The University of Iowa SENIOR COLLEGE in Cooperation with Association of Emeritus Faculty and the The University of Iowa Retirees Association with Registration and Webpage Support from The University of Iowa Center for Advancement 2021-2022

The FY22 continued to present challenges for the Senior College as COVID-19 waxed and waned. We offered 9 courses in Fall 2021, seven via Zoom and two in person at the Coralville Center for Performing Arts where people could easily spread out (we followed all current policies and procedures regarding masking). In Spring, 2022, we offered 10 courses, seven via Zoom and three in person (two at the Coralville Center for Performing Arts, and a smaller course was offered in the Voxman Music Building). There were 912 people (515 unique individuals—aren't we all?) registered for the fall semester and 918 registrants in the spring (representing 543 individuals). As word spread, we had people from all over Iowa, as well as from 28 states and the District of Columbia registered in the spring semester. In addition to courses in more timely areas such as public health and COVID-19, Iowa rivers (agriculture, hydrology and water quality), all things electric vehicles, climate change (causes, consequences and cures), national forests as America's public lands legacy, navigating the grieving process, and how to live a consequential life in late adulthood.

By summer 2022, we were pretty adept at offering Zoom courses, but as COVID-19 showed no signs of disappearing, the Senior College Committee decided that we needed to learn how to offer hybrid courses. We'll offer a mix of in-person, ZOOM, and hybrid courses from now on.

The Senior College continued to partner with the University of Iowa Lecture Committee by cosponsoring Bill Nye, the Science Guy in Hancher Auditorium, and also live-streamed. We'll continue to work with partners to bring special events to our Senior College members.

The 2021-22 committee:

Emil Rinderspacher, Chair Warren Boe Holly Carver Lesanne Fliehler George Johnson Mary New Nancy Williams Tom Rocklin, Vice-chair Gayle Bray Kelley Donham HD Hoover Frank Mitros Pam Willard